March 8, 2005
New Mexico Public Education Department
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

Jennifer Chavez
Public Information Officer
(505) 476-0393

Schools on the Rise Day Proclaimed
March 10, 2005

(Santa Fe, NM)— Governor Bill Richardson has declared Thursday, March 10, 2005 as "Schools on the Rise Day" at the state Capitol with a proclamation that recognizes 19 New Mexico schools that have risen in their ranking and are no longer rated as probationary. The Public Education Department (PED) and the Horace Mann Companies are sponsoring and celebrating "Schools on the Rise Day" with a news conference at noon at the rotunda.
The governor's proclamation reminds citizens that closing the achievement gap in New Mexico should be a matter of concern for everyone. The proclamation also points out that 68% of students are meeting adequate yearly progress as determined by the Public Education Department.
Many of the 19 schools will have displays in the Halls of History on the east and west sides of the Capitol Rotunda all day showing how they raised the levels of learning among their students. Various legislators and Horace Mann representatives will also salute the schools' accomplishments at the news conference. Secretary Veronica C. García said,
"I congratulate the administrators, teachers, students and parents that have worked hard to improve the education students are receiving at the schools being recognized. The daylong celebration is an opportunity for all New Mexicans to celebrate the accomplishment of these schools' progress. We have many new measures of accountability and a new school improvement framework that I’m confident will increase the numbers of schools on the rise in the future.”
The 19 schools being recognized are Barcelona, Emerson, Kit Carson, Lowell and Whittier Elementary in Albuquerque, Eva B. Stokley Elementary in Shiprock, Eutimio “Tim” Salazar III Elementary in Espanola, Jefferson, Lincoln and Thoreau Elementary and Crownpoint High in Gallup, Edison Elementary in Hobbs, Lake Arthur Middle in Lake Arthur, Booker T. Washington Elementary in Las Cruces, Kaune Elementary in Santa Fe, Rita A. Marquez Elementary in Santa Rosa, Forrester and Wilferth Elementary in Springer and Don Cecilio Martinez Elementary in West Las Vegas.
For more information, call Kenneth Baca, Information Specialist at (505) 827-5800.