August 30, 2004
New Mexico Public Education Department
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

Ruth Williams
Legislative Liaison
(505) 827-7803 or
Pager: 988-0582

508 Schools Meet Adequate Yearly Progress and
Requirements Set by State and NCLB

(Santa Fe, NM)--Secretary of Education Dr. Veronica C. García announced today that 508 of 768 schools in New Mexico have met the requirements established by the federal No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 and state statute. Please click here to access the following:

2004 NCLB/State Statute School Status and Designations

A quick reference guide for AYP

Questions and answers about AYP

New comprehensive framework for supporting schools in need of improvement

Document on transitioning to NCLB designations and the NCLB school improvement cycle

School Reform Act and NCLB designations and requirements

Frequencies for the Reasons Schools Did Not Make AYP

“These schools have shown that they are focused and moving in the right direction. I commend the superintendents and principals for their instructional leadership and their teachers and support staff for making it happen in the classroom.

“It is also evident that we have engaged parents and supportive communities in these schools. I applaud their efforts!

“The reasons some schools did not meet AYP vary. Schools that traditionally have experienced high performance may have missed meeting AYP because of reasons unrelated to the schools’ total performance.

“I urge parents, communities, board members, legislators and other stakeholders to examine closely the reasons why a school might have failed to meet AYP before rushing to judgment about a particular school,” said Secretary Dr. García.

She commended the following school districts in which all schools met AYP: Animas, Capitan, Carrizozo, Chama Valley, Cloudcroft, Corona, Des Moines, Dexter, Dora, Elida, Eunice, Floyd, Grady, Hagerman, Hondo Valley, Jal, Lake Arthur, Logan, Mora, Pecos, Questa, Raton, Reserve, Roy, San Jon, Santa Rosa, Springer, Tatum, Texico, Tucumcari, Vaughn, Wagon Mound, and West Las Vegas.

She also commended three schools -- Lowell and Whittier Elementary schools in Albuquerque and Booker T. Washington Elementary in Las Cruces – for meeting AYP and leaving corrective action. “They did this regardless of student ethnicity, home language or family income,” she said.

She announced that 126 schools received NCLB designations of School Improvement I or II, Corrective Action or Restructuring I or II. “These schools are not alone. We will fully support their efforts to bring all students to proficiency. All means all -- all of us committed to each student’s success and all students reaching new heights in learning,” she said.