August 11, 2004
New Mexico Public Education Department
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

Charmaine Jackson-John
Public Information Officer
(505) 476-0393

N.M. Public Education Department Announces 2004-2005 Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Winners

Santa Fe—The New Mexico Public Education Department today announced that 44 New Mexico high school seniors have been selected as Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholars for the 2004-2005 academic year. The students will receive $1,500 annual scholarships each year, for up to four years, to apply toward college or university expenses anywhere in the United States.

“It is an honor to recognize these outstanding students for their educational accomplishments. Being named a Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholar is a tremendous achievement and reflects each student’s devotion to academic excellence,” said Secretary of Education Dr. Veronica C. García.

The students were selected from among 174 applicants in the state based on their academic achievement and American College Test (ACT)/Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT®) scores. Minimum eligibility requirements were a 3.5 grade point average and either a score of 27 on the ACT or 1220 on the SAT. The scholarships were awarded to students throughout the state.

The 2004-2005 Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholars are:

ALBUQUERQUE Albuquerque Academy Austin Davies, Zachary Grafe, Alexander Harris and Erin Rose
Albuquerque High School Gabriel Fries-Briggs
Highland High School Benjamin Guenther
Manzano High School Mikala Johnson and Casen Ross
Sandia High School Thomas Baldwin and Clayton Sims
St. Pius X High School Mary Spulak

ARTESIA Artesia High School David Freeman

BELEN Belen High School Garrett Hall

CARLSBAD Carlsbad High School John Kearney
Home Schooled Megan Brown

CLOVIS Clovis High School Mark Gant and Alissa McDowell

FARMINGTON Farmington High School Carl Bryce, Daniel Clark and Ethan Kottke

GALLUP Rehoboth Christian School Lee Charles
Gallup Catholic High School Teal Ferrari
Gallup High School Sean McKenzie
GADSDEN Gadsden High School Starlit Hill and Lorraine Tangonan

LAS CRUCES Mayfield High School Sara Friberg and Theodore Mansfield
Onate High School Kelly Mills

LOS ALAMOS Los Alamos High School Joseph Izraelevitz, Rima Turner,
Machenzie Wehner and Philip Worland

RATON Raton High School Elliot Williams
TAOS Taos High School Nicola Ulibarri

LOS LUNAS Los Lunas High School Aaron Greenwood and Matthew Earthman

MORIARTY Home Schooled Elizabeth Malone
Moriarty High School Anna Reese

RIO RANCHO Rio Rancho High School Sarah Boyd

ROSWELL Goddard High School Samuel Webster

RUIDOSO Ruidoso High School Tristan Bates

SANTA FE Santa Fe Preparatory School Jessica Weiss and Noga Landau

SILVER CITY Cliff High School Stephen Clawson

The Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarships were first awarded in 1987 for the first year of study. The program, administered by the PED, is federally funded.

For more information on the Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program, please contact Daniel P. Benavidez, the PED’s program coordinator, or Jenna M. Jaquez, assistant program coordinator, at (505) 827-1421.