PRESS RELEASE - April 28, 2004
New Mexico Public Education Department
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

Ruth Williams
Public Outreach Director
(505) 476-0393

First Lady Barbara Richardson, Education Secretary
Dr. García Accept Free Textbooks from Mexico

(Santa Fe, NM)— First Lady Barbara Richardson and Secretary of Education Dr. Veronica C. García have accepted more than 18,000 Spanish-language textbooks on New Mexico’s behalf. The textbooks, contributed by Mexican Consulate Juan Manuel Solana, will be distributed directly to 142 schools in 19 public school districts in the state.

“Mexico has provided the teachers and Spanish-speaking students of our state with a truly meaningful gift, one that will strengthen learning in the classroom and students’ self concepts and cultural identities. This gift reflects Mexico’s commitment to helping our students excel and to preserving a strong bilingual multicultural populace in New Mexico,” said Secretary Dr. García.

Mexican Consulate Solana presented sample books to the staff at Cesar Chavez Elementary in Santa Fe. Elementary, middle and high schools in the following districts will receive a total of 300 boxes (61 books per box) of free textbooks:

Albuquerque Public Schools Pecos Independent Schools
Clovis Municipal Schools Portales Municipal Schools
Cuba Independent Schools Raton Public Schools
Espanola Public Schools Rio Rancho Public Schools
Gadsden Independent Schools Roswell Independent Schools
Grady Municipal Schools Santa Fe Public Schools
Hagerman Municipal Schools Taos Municipal Schools
Las Cruces Public Schools Truth or Consequences Municipal Schools
Las Vegas City Public Schools West Las Vegas Public Schools
Los Lunas Public Schools  

In addition, free textbooks will be distributed to the New Mexico School for the Deaf, St. Francis Cathedral School in Santa Fe and the state Children, Youth and Families Department.

This is the eighth year of the “Mexican Institute for Mexicans in the United States” book program, offered by the Mexican Consulate.

For a complete listing of recipient districts and schools, please click here.