PRESS RELEASE - September 18, 2003
New Mexico State Department
of Education

300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

Ruth Williams
Public Outreach Director
(505) 476-0393

State Superintendent Accepts Corrective Action Plans With Conditions for 42 Schools in 13 Districts

(Santa Fe, NM)-- State Superintendent of Public Instruction Michael J. Davis announced today that he has approved local corrective action plans with mandatory conditions for the 42 new corrective action schools in 13 public school districts. Through his approval, the local school boards and superintendents will retain duties and responsibilities for those schools.

“Under my approval announced today, no suspension orders will be issued for these corrective action schools. The local boards did what they needed to do at the hearings to prove to me they could successfully address the deficiencies in their corrective action schools,” said State Superintendent Davis. “Staff from the New Mexico State Department of Education (SDE) will immediately begin to work with the schools to ensure that the plans are carried out and that schools and districts do everything possible to attain a meets standards rating.”

Letters detailing requirements specific to the districts and schools were issued to the school districts within 10 days of corrective action show cause hearings, held in each district from September 2 to 11. Several additional requirements were placed on all the schools. They include the following:

1. The district and school must provide mentoring and support to new teachers at the school.
2. Professional development must be addressed outside the school day with one exception -- teachers may attend professional development during the school day for no more than three instructional days. Schools must work with SDE staff to ensure that the professional development is appropriate to the school.
3. At least one permanent substitute teacher must be assigned to each corrective action school.
4. Adequate resources must be provided.
5. Schools and districts must continue to disaggregate and review student-level data by the required subgroups (Caucasian/Whites not of Hispanic origin, Blacks not of Hispanic origin, Hispanics, Asian/Pacific Islanders, American Indian/Alaskan natives, English Language Learners, Free and Reduced-Price Lunch and students receiving special education services)
6. Schools and districts in areas where there are tribal governments must include them in the improvement process.

The 42 corrective action schools and 13 school districts include the following:

Albuquerque Public Schools: Armijo Elementary, Ernie Pyle Middle, Eugene Field Elementary, Harrison Middle, La Luz Elementary, Lavaland Elementary, Los Padillas Elementary, Trumann Middle and Valle Vista Elementary
Bernalillo Public Schools: Cochiti Elementary and Santo Domingo Middle
Central Consolidated Schools: Naschitti Elementary, Nataani Nez Elementary, Newcomb Middle, Nizhoni Elementary and Ojo Amarillo Elementary
Dulce Independent Schools: Dulce Elementary
Espanola Public Schools: Alcalde Elementary, Espanola Middle, Hernandez Elementary and Tony Quintana Elementary
Farmington Municipal Schools: Apache Elementary
Gadsden Independent Schools: Desert View Elementary
Gallup-McKinley County Public Schools: Chee Dodge Elementary, Crownpoint Elementary, Navajo Elementary, Rocky View Elementary, Stagecoach Elementary, Tobe Turben Elementary, Tohatchi Elementary, Tohatchi High, Tohatchi Middle, Twin Lakes Elementary and Washington Elementary
Los Lunas Public Schools: Desert View Intermediate
Rowell Independent Schools: Pecos Elementary
Santa Fe Public Schools: Agua Fria Elementary and Edward Ortiz Middle
West Las Vegas Public Schools: Valley Elementary and West Las Vegas Middle
Zuni Public Schools: A:Shiwi Elementary and Dowa Yalanne Elementary