PRESS RELEASE - June 6, 2003
New Mexico State Department
of Education

300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

Ruth Williams
Public Outreach Director
(505) 476-0393

SBE to Honor SDE, DVR Employee Service

(Santa Fe, NM)—The New Mexico State Board of Education (SBE) will honor New Mexico State Department of Education (SDE) and Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR) employees at its regular meeting on Wednesday, June 18, beginning at 8:15 a.m., at the SDE, Mabry Hall, located at 300 Don Gaspar, in Santa Fe. Employees will receive service awards for five, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 35 years of service.

“It is an honor to recognize our employees for their outstanding dedication and public service. Without a doubt, our employees are among the state’s finest public servants, devoted and committed to quality educational opportunities for all children and to assuring that disabled New Mexicans are recognized as positive contributors to the workforce,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Michael J. Davis

He continued, “We thank our awards recipients for their long-standing service and for all that they do to contribute to the well-being of our state.”

Employees to receive service awards are:

35 Years of Service
Henry Borgrink (SDE)

25 Years of Service

Marcella C. Amsden (DVR)
Kathryn A. Spiering (DVR)

20 Years of Service

Esther Churchwell (DVR)
Dorelia Lujan (DVR)
Marie Montoya (DVR)
Alice L. Sandoval (DVR)

15 Years of Service

Gloria Baca (DVR)

John P. Berry (DVR)
Carol Day (DVR)
Francine Gariss (DVR)
Lanthia Gillespie+ (DVR)
Dorothy J. Gurule (DVR)
Guru Meher Khalsa (SDE)
Bernadette Leyba (SDE)
Daniel Rodriguez (SDE)
Alice Romero (SDE)
Rebecca Sanchez (DVR)
Pamela Seeberger (DVR)
Luanne Templeton (DVR)
Andrew Winnegar (DVR)

10 Years of Service

Tom Alderete (SDE)
Stephen Burrell (SDE)
Wilma Espinoza (DVR)
Teressa Gallegos (DVR)
Rosalinda Garza (DVR)
Mary Jane Gonzales (DVR)
Caroline Jaramillo-Crone (SDE)
Mary Lou Lovato (SDE)
Debra Magee (DVR)
Charles Noland (SDE)
Diana Ortega (SDE)
Judith Sandoval (SDE)
Judith Tanner (DVR)
Glenn Zachowski (DVR)

5 Years of Service

JoAnna Branchal (SDE)
Roy Burrola (DVR)
Nora C de Baca (DVR)
Juan Chip (DVR)
Laura Mae Dalton (SDE)
Greg Duran (DVR)
Amber Fox (DVR)
Steve Fuentes (DVR)
Carolyn Henderson (SDE)
Antoinette Holmes (DVR)
Juanita Jacquez (SDE)
Barry Jolly (DVR)
Daryl Landavazo (SDE)
Tina Maes+ (SDE)
David Martinez (SDE)
Larry Melendez (DVR)
Alecia Moll (SDE)
Catherine North+ (SDE)
Jack Osborne (DVR)
Elvira Pacheco (DVR)
Alexio Quintana (DVR)
Marian Rael (SDE)
William Reich (DVR)
Steven Sanchez (SDE)
Harry Smail (DVR)
Benjamin Stair (DVR)
Tony Staton (DVR)
Laurene Stopper (DVR)
Jennifer Taylor (DVR)
Alicia Vasquez-Rios (DVR)