PRESS RELEASE - August 26, 2003
New Mexico State Department
of Education

300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

Ruth Williams
Public Outreach Director
(505) 476-0393

State Department of Education Schedules Hearings For 2003-2004 Corrective Action Schools

(Santa Fe, NM)--The New Mexico State Department of Education (SDE) today announced 14 hearings, from Tuesday, September 2, to Thursday, September 11, will be held throughout the state for local school boards and superintendents to present evidence to State Superintendent of Public Instruction Michael J. Davis regarding their corrective action schools.

The local boards and superintendents will be asked to demonstrate at the hearings why their corrective action schools should not be in corrective action, that a local corrective action plan should be considered or that voluntary suspension of authority over the school will be pursued.

“I plan to do a great deal of listening at these show cause hearings. The hearings will allow us to consider whether the local districts’ efforts to support their corrective action schools have been and are the right things to do. We also need to consider whether they have the capacity and the resources to implement their corrective action plans,” said State Superintendent Davis. “Our job is to do the best we can for the children in these schools. Ultimately, our goal is for these schools to meet standards,” he said.

Members of the public may make presentations at the show cause hearings.

The hearing schedule is:

Tuesday, September 2: 8:00 to 10:00 a.m. Bernalillo Public Schools
Central Office, Board Room
224 N. Camino del Pueblo, Bernalillo
1:00 to 3:00 p.m. Los Lunas Public Schools
Board Room
343 Main Street, Los Lunas
6:00 to 8:00 p.m. Albuquerque Public Schools
Albuquerque TVI, Smith-Brasher Hall
717 University Blvd., SW, Albuquerque
Wednesday, September 3: 10:00 a.m. to Noon Zuni Public Schools
A:Shiwi Elementary
10 North Sandy Springs Road, Zuni
3:00 to 5:00 p.m. Gallup-McKinley County Public Schools
John F. Kennedy Middle, Auditorium
600 S. Boardman Drive, Gallup
Thursday, September 4: 9:00 to 11:00 a.m. Farmington Municipal Schools
Board Room
2001 N. Dustin, Farmington
1:00 to 3:00 p.m. Central Consolidated Schools
Board Room
Hwy. 64, Old High School Road, Shiprock
Friday, September 5: 10:00 a.m. to Noon Jemez Mountain Public Schools
Board Room
Hwy. 96, Gallina
Monday, September 8: 9:00 to 11:00 a.m. West Las Vegas Public Schools
Board Room
179 Bridge Street, Las Vegas
2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Santa Fe Public Schools
Board Room
610 Alta Vista, Santa Fe
Tuesday, September 9: 8:00 to 10:00 a.m. Espanola Public Schools
City Hall, Council Chambers
405 N. Paseo de Onate, Espanola
2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Dulce Independent Schools
Board Room
1 Hawk Drive, Dulce
Wednesday, September 10: 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Gadsden Independent Schools
Desert View Elementary, Library
1105 Valle Vista, Gadsden
Thursday, September 11: 9:00 to 11:00 a.m. Roswell Independent Schools
Board Room
300 N. Kentucky AESC Building, Roswell

Forty-three new public schools in 14 school districts in New Mexico were placed in corrective action for 2003-2004 on August 1 by the New Mexico State Board of Education. A proposed notice of suspension was mailed to each school board president and superintendent.

The schools named for corrective action are as follows:

Albuquerque Public Schools: Armijo Elementary, Ernie Pyle Middle, Eugene Field Elementary, Harrison Middle, La Luz Elementary, Lavaland Elementary, Los Padillas Elementary, Trumann Middle and Valle Vista Elementary

Bernalillo Public Schools: Cochiti Elementary and Santo Domingo Middle

Central Consolidated Schools: Naschitti Elementary, Nataani Nez Elementary, Newcomb Middle, Nizhoni Elementary and Ojo Amarillo Elementary

Dulce Independent Schools: Dulce Elementary

Espanola Public Schools: Alcalde Elementary, Espanola Middle, Hernandez Elementary and Tony Quintana Elementary

Farmington Municipal Schools: Apache Elementary

Gadsden Independent Schools: Desert View Elementary

Gallup-McKinley County Public Schools: Chee Dodge Elementary, Crownpoint Elementary, Navajo Elementary, Rocky View Elementary, Stagecoach Elementary, Tobe Turben Elementary, Tohatchi Elementary, Tohatchi High, Tohatchi Middle, Twin Lakes Elementary and Washington Elementary

Jemez Mountain Public Schools: Coyote Elementary

Los Lunas Public Schools: Desert View Intermediate

Rowell Independent Schools: Pecos Elementary

Santa Fe Public Schools: Agua Fria Elementary and Edward Ortiz Middle

West Las Vegas Public Schools: Valley Elementary and West Las Vegas Middle

Zuni Public Schools: A:Shiwi Elementary and Dowa Yalanne Elementary

State Superintendent Davis’ specific corrective actions for each school will be announced 10 days following each hearing, with appeals to follow.