New Mexico - Public Education Department

Title I, Part D – Neglected and Delinquent Program

The program seeks to improve educational services for children and youth in local and State institutions that serve neglected or delinquent children and youth. Identified students receive additional support so that they may have the opportunity to meet the same challenging State academic content standards and challenging State student academic achievement standards that all children in the New Mexico are expected to meet.

Local Educational Agency Programs for Neglected, Delinquent or At-Risk Children and Youth

Supplemental Funds are provided through Title I, Part D, subpart 2 and Title I Part A to districts for students who reside in a public or private residential facility. These students have been adjudicated, committed, or voluntarily placed in the facility. These facilities are defined as follows:

  • “Institution for neglected children:” a public or private residential facility, other than a foster home, that is operated for the care of children who have been committed to the institution or voluntarily placed in the institution under applicable State law due to the abandonment, neglect, or death of their parents.
  • “Institution for delinquent children and youth:” a public or private residential facility for the care of children who have been adjudicated to be delinquent or in need of supervision.

The funds for these programs are calculated annually through a process that is referred to as the “October Count.”

  • Students who are in facilities that serve delinquent children are counted for Title I, Part D, Subpart 2 funds that are allocated to local educational agencies (LEA) through the state educational agency (SEA)
  • Students who are in facilities that serve neglected children are counted for Title I, Part A funds that are allocated to LEAs through the SEA.

Students Counted (Annual Count)

  • Living in local institutions for children and youth who are Neglected or Delinquent or in adult correctional institutions
  • Living in the institution for at least 1 day during the 30 day count period
  • 5 through 17 years of age

Students Served

  • Living in local institutions for children and youth who are delinquent or in adult correctional institutions; eligible for services under Title I, Parts A and C; or identified as “at risk” (e.g., migrants, immigrants, gang members, pregnant or parenting youth)
  • 21 years of age or younger
Contact Person

Mario Vigil
Education Administrator
(505) 827-1828
mario.vigil@state.nm.us

Contact us

Title I Bureau
120 South Federal Place, Room 206
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Ph. (505) 827-1402
Fax (505) 827-1826

 
Staff Directory
 
Quick Links
 
  Office of the Governor of New Mexico Sunshine Portal US Department of Education Teach NM Score
 
Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Facebook