New Mexico - Public Education Department

Indian Education Division Grants

The PED Indian Education Division provides funds to support the advancement of Indian Education in New Mexico.

School District Initiative
Funding List/Expenditures
Forms:
SDI Grant Manual
SDI Opt-Out Form

Links for Grants:
Request for Application | Application Form | Eligible Schools | Pre-Conference Presentation | Deadline May 12, 2017
School District Initiatives (SDI)
Funds are provided to the (23) school districts, and district-chartered or state-chartered schools who enroll a significant number of American Indian students for the purpose of providing effective culturally-relevant programs, opportunities and practices which contribute to the academic and cultural success of the students. SY 2013-14 grantees are listed below:
APS Aztec Bernalillo Central Consolidated
Cuba Dulce Gallup-McKinley Grants-Cibola
Jemez Mountain Los Lunas Magdalena NACA
Penasco Pojoaque Rio Rancho Ruidoso
Santa Fe Taos Walatowa Zuni
Bloomfield Farmington    
Strengthening Tribal Language programs

Forms:
Certification Process
Licensure FAQ
STL Grant Manual
Revised Licensure Form
Native Languages Act
Performance Measures for SDI
MOA Template
Navajo Nation Language Certification
Links for Grants:
Request for Application | Application Form | Pre-Conference Presentation | Deadline May 12, 2017

Strengthening Tribal Languages
Funds are provided to New Mexico's Native Nations, Tribes and Pueblos to support the maintenance and revitalization of their respective Native languages. SY 2014-15 grantees are listed below:
 Acoma
Tribal Education Director:
 Marvis Aragon
Phone: (505) 552-6604/6605
MOA
 Cochiti
Tribal Education Director:
 Kevin Lewis
Phone: (505) 465-3115
MOA
 Isleta
Tribal Education Director:
 Geraldine Jojola
Phone: (505) 869-2680
poi08100@isletapueblo.com
MOA
 Jemez
Tribal Education Director:
 Keven Shendo
Phone: (575) 834-9102
shendo@jemezpueblo.org
 Jicarilla
Tribal Education Director:
 Claudia Vigil-Munoz
Phone: (575) 759-3613
ex_dir_jade@yahoo.com
MOA
 Laguna
Tribal Education Director:
 Gilbert Sanchez
Phone: (505) 552-6008
gsanchez@lagunapueblo-nsn.gov
MOA
 Mescalero
Tribal Education Director:
 Kelton Starr
Phone: (575) 464-4500
kstarrmat@yahoo.com
MOA
 Nambe
Tribal Education Director:
 Claudine Martinez
Phone: (505) 455-2036 x126
cmartinez@nambepueblo.org
 Navajo
Tribal Education Director:
 Dr. Tommy Lewis
Phone: (928) 871-7474
tlewis@nndode.org
MOA
 Ohkay Owingeh
Tribal Education Director:
 Howie Aquino
Phone: (505) 852-3477
howiea@oogc.org
MOA | Letter | Resolution
 Picuris
Tribal Education Director:
 Darby Buchholtz
Phone: (575) 587-2519
administrator@picurispueblo.com
MOA
 Pojoaque
Tribal Education Director:
 Felicia Rivera
Phone: (505) 455-3369
frivera@puebloofpojoaque.org
 San Felipe
Tribal Education Director:
 Alissa Chavez
Phone: (505) 771-9961/60
achavez@sfpueblo.com
MOA
 San Ildefonso
Tribal Education Director:
 Dolly Narang
Phone: (505) 455-2273
dnarang@sanipueblo.org
 Sandia
Tribal Education Director:
 Ashley Chavez
Phone: (505) 867-3317
chaves@email.arizona.edu
 Santa Ana
Tribal Education Director:
 Millie Demmert
Phone: (505) 771-6722
millie.demmert@santaana-nsn.gov
MOA
 Santa Clara
Tribal Education Director:
 Jeremy Oyenque
Phone: (505) 753-7326
(505) 927-9347
joyenque@santaclarapueblo.org
MOA
 Santo Domingo
Tribal Education Director:
 Harley Coriz
Phone: (505) 465-2214 x2227
hcoriz@kewa-nsn.us
MOA
 Taos
Tribal Education Director:
 Vincent Romero
Phone: (575) 758-8626
vromero@taospueblo.com
 Tesuque
Tribal Education Director:
 Bruce Curliss
Phone: (505) 983-2667
bcurliss@pueblooftesuque.org
 Zia
Tribal Education Director:
 Odessa Waquiu
Phone: (505) 867-3304 x206
owaquiu@ziapueblo.org
MOA
 Zuni
Tribal Education Director:
 Bernadette Panteah
Phone: (505) 782-7186
bpanteah@ashiwi.org
MOA
Collapse AllExpand All
 
  Office of the Governor of New Mexico Sunshine Portal US Department of Education Teach NM Score
 
Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Facebook